Who We Are

The Greely Players is a not-for-profit community-based musical theatre group that was established in 1990 in the village of Greely in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada. The group mounts one main production every year, as well as a “Christmas in the Village” show. We rely on volunteers to produce the show and operates on a cost recovery basis only.

Our productions are staged at the Greely Community Centre at 1448 Meadow Drive in Ottawa south. See Map.

In 1990, the All Saints Anglican Church Choir celebrated the church’s 100th anniversary. To commemorate the occasion and encourage participation from the larger community, the church Music Director Carol Parker asked for the assistance of Canterbury High School teacher John Pohran and some of his students to provide live music for a production of Fiddler on the Roof. Many of the cast members were also members of the church choir, including three generations of the Stanley family. Throughout the years a number of the original participants have remained with the theatre troupe.

Each year The Greely Players presents a major production involving both children and adults. Every second year the play chosen tries to feature children in lead roles. Among those mounted in previous years are Oliver, Peter Pan, The Wizard of Oz, The Sound of Music, Annie, Hello Dolly and Anne of Green Gables. Other productions over the years have included Fiddler on the Roof (twice), My Fair Lady, South Pacific, Oklahoma, Brigadoon, and Li'l Abner. See our Past Shows page for cast lists and photos from all of our past productions.

Our Mandate

  - To provide opportunities for community involvement in the performing arts.

  - To encourage people of all ages to participate in community activities.

  - To provide low-cost, high quality entertainment to the community of Ottawa.

  - To give something back to the community that supports us.

A copy of our Constitution can be found here.

Greely Players Bursaries

Each year the Greely Players make available bursaries to high school graduates in the Ottawa area to continue their studies in the performing arts. See our Bursaries page for more information on how to apply and for past winners.

Honorary Lifetime Members

Honorary Lifetime Membership is a special award which may be conferred to recognize an individual‘s exceptional long-term contribution to The Greely Players. Recipients of this award become members of the Greely Players, without fees, for life. These are individuals who have been members of the Greely Players for at least 10 years and have contributed in a variety of areas including performance, back-stage, production, management or administration with the Greely Players.

Marg and Joel Rahn
Janice Jenness
Tim Gordon
Joan Bruce-Nibogie
Leo Noiles
Lise Page
Anne Peterson
John Pohran
Gale Ramsden
Elaine and Cecil Stanley
Marg and Ron Van Dusen
Judy and Mike Taylor
Len Trembley
Holly Villeneuve
Janet Villeneuve
Michele Piironen
Natalie and Brent Currie
Wayne Hall
Sue Armstrong-Laycock

Our 2022-2023 Executive

Heather Wyche

Tania Gauder

Sue Armstrong-Laycock
Michael Versluis

Jake Blair

Bill Sangalli

Jillian Turman

From back to front: Jake Blair, Michael Versluis, Bill Sangalli, Jillian Turman, Heather Wyche, Sue Laycock-Armstrong, Tania Gauder

A list of all the past Executives of the Greely Players can be found in our Archives.

© 2006 The Greely Players
contact us at
Cast/Crew login here